17
Aug
08

Switching off

The batteries in my TV remote ran out today. This is not a disaster. It’s good for me to get a little extra exercise, standing up to turn the TV on and off… which I now realize is all I ever used my remote for.

Now that came as kind of a shock to me. I can’t remember the last time I *watched TV* – actually sat down and watched a scheduled TV show. I watch movies, I play games, I buy boxed-sets of series, but do I make time for that must-see show on a Monday night? No. Maybe I’ll record it. Maybe I’ll download it from the broadcaster later.

When I was a kid, I remember lying in front of the TV for hours on a Saturday morning, watching cartoons and fast-food ads and whatever else the networks chose to feed me. Now, not so much. My TV does what I tell it to. It’s like I’ve grown up.

