14
May
09

A matter of taste

I hope everyone is taking the time to enjoy the party. I’ve met some really interesting people so far and I hope you have too. I did have some butterflies though – not just the ‘is anybody going to turn up?’ butterflies, but because I knew the enemy were going to be there.

The best parties always have that frisson of danger because you can’t control who’s going to appear out of the blue. ‘OMG, it’s that guy whose fender I wrecked yesterday,’ or, ‘OMG, it’s my ex and their new significant other!’ Random people are being invited into a single room and a punch in the face lurks in every wrong look.

So did anyone have a run in with Veilcorp or their ‘affiliates’ at the party? Because they were there – still are, I guess. Now I’m not saying Veilcorp are trouble; as party host it would be wrong of me to judge, but as Guardian Angel of ‘what is’ and ‘what isn’t’ I must speak out. They are wrong in so many ways – even taste (‘Veilcorp’ anyone? A tiger start-up trying too hard to impress the big boys). Just what sort of person signs up with guys like that? ‘Affiliates’ Veilcorp call them; ‘Collaborators’ Ignatius would say, and for once I’m inclined to agree with him.

So to these collaborators I say: ‘Do you know what you are doing? Are you collaborating because you were bullied by Veilcorp? Are you looking for advancement, or are you in it for the sheer joy?’ Because I don’t know which of you I fear the most – the bullied, the climbers or the jokers.

